Syritsa’s second victory in the Spain Elite-U23 Cup

Glen Syritsa (Lokosphinx) has once again prevailed in the second round of the Elite-Sub23 Spanish Cup held today in the Murcian municipality of Alcantarilla; a Guerrita Trophy marked by the rain and that has once again elevated the fast Russian cyclist, winner in a reduced sprint ahead of Andoni López de Abetxuko (Subsidiary Caja Rural-Alea) and Ángel Coterillo (Gomur-Cantabria Infinite).

The test would be marked at the beginning by an early breakaway starring Matthias Barnet (Zappi), Owen Lightfoot (Zappi), Gonzalo Inguanzo (Froiz), Neo Martínez (Froiz) and Ismael Guzmán (Globalia). The five cyclists would walk together until the arrival of Alto de la Perdiz, in which the push of the peloton not only neutralized the breakaway, but also configured a selection of just 25 runners, with Lizarte and Eolo Kometa imposing a hard rhythm.

The new race situation was then structured with a leading group of about 25 units and another pursuer of a similar composition, but with the gap between the two becoming larger and larger. In the descent of the Alto de la Perdiz José Luis Faura (Valverde Team) moved bravely and intelligently, accumulating an advantage of more than a minute, although it would be hunted with about fifty kilometers to go. In this new race situation, and with the group of some 25 units already aware that victory was in their legs, they began to produce movements that did not bear fruit. until the powerful attack of Lucas Towers (Previley), that managed to open an important gap of up to a minute.

The good work behind some of the most represented teams such as Eolo-Kometa and the Caja Rural-Alea subsidiary would end up finalize the escape from Towers with 20 kilometers to go. Later Fernando Tercero (Eolo-Kometa) also tried it alone, but also without success, leading the end to the sprint.

On the finish line the best would be Gleb Syritsa (Lokosphinx), imposing his speed tip ahead of Andoni López de Abetxuko (Subsidiary Caja Rural-Alea), second; and Ángel Coterillo (Gomur-Cantabria Infinita), third. In this way, the Russian gets his second victory on the national circuit after having also won the Guadiana Circuit and continues as the leader of an Elite-Sub23 Spanish Cup that will hold its next appointment on March 13 with the Aiztondo Klasika. Andrea Pietrobon, fourth today, continues as the elite leader.